Connecticut's Early Childhood Policy Challenges

Care Shortages and Funding Approaches

Office of Legislative Research



Today's Presentation

Overview: Child Care and Early Education

- Challenges
- Blue Ribbon Panel Report
- Cost and Wage Data

Legislation from Last Session

- Early Start CT
- Tri-Share Child Care
 Pilot
- Early Childhood Care and Education Fund
- Other Highlights

Questions

Overview: Child Care and Early Education



CT's Blue Ribbon Panel on Child Care Report

The challenges:

 Parents can't pay more, teachers can't earn less, and programs are lucky to keep their doors open



Connecticut Office of Early Childhood

2023

Blue Ribbon Panel on Child Care Report

Blue Ribbon Panel on Child Care Blue Ribbon Report Contd.

\$1.5 Billion

Has been lost per year in Connecticut economy due to the lack of infant and toddler care

1 in 5

Parents had to quit a job or have been fired due to child care problems

Blue Ribbon Report Contd.

Report includes a 5-year plan with multiple goals and action steps

• Initial cost estimate of more than \$2 billion



Some issues named in the report addressed in 2024 session:

- Simplifying funding system:
 - Early Start CT
- Identifying new funding sources:
 - Tri-Share Program
- Funding to help increase staff compensation:
 - one-time wage supplement of \$1800 each

Child Care Desert Map

- Measures the number of available child care slots compared to the nearby child population
- Read as a ratio of slots to child population
- If there were a 1:1 ratio, there would be a slot for each child



Source: Office of Early Childhood

Child Care Costs:What Families Pay

Statewide Fee Analysis of Child Care Facilities in Connecticut								
	Weekly Cost			Yearly Cost				
Service Type – Full-Time	Lowest	Highest	Average	Average				
Infant/Toddler Center	\$200	\$708	\$355	\$17,040				
Infant/Toddler Home	\$100	\$550	\$276	\$13,248				
Preschool Center	\$100	\$595	\$295	\$14,160				
Preschool Home	\$100	\$500	\$254	\$12,192				

Source: Connecticut 211 Child Care, updated November 1, 2024

Information does not include state or federally subsidized programs or those with sliding scale rates. Yearly cost assumes a 48-week year.

Child Care Costs: What Workers Get Paid

Year	Minimum Wage	Childcare Workers Hourly	All Occupations Hourly	Difference Between All Occup. and Childcare Workers
2023	\$15.00	\$15.34	\$25.76	-\$10.42
2022	14.00	14.68	24.90	-10.22
2021	13.00	13.53	23.56	-10.03
2020	12.00	12.82	22.76	-9.93
2019	11.00	12.36	22.11	-9.75

Source: CT Department of Labor, Labor Market Information

New Laws from 2024 Session



Early Start CT, PA 24-78

Creates Early Start CT Program

Goals:

- Provide access for infants and toddlers and pre-school children to quality early care and education programs and prepare them for school, and

- **Prevent** or minimize developmental delay in children before age five



Early Start CT, PA 24-78, contd.

Eliminates three existing grant programs:

1. School Readiness Preschoo (CGS§§ 10-160 to -16u)

2. Child Day Care for Disadvantaged Children \rightarrow for development and operation of day care facilities \rightarrow (CGS§ 8-210)

3. Head Start State Supplement helps Head Start Programs provide extended hours or additional service days, such as in summer \rightarrow (CGS § 10-16n)



*These programs repealed effective July 1, 2025, and replaced with Early Start CT

Early Start CT: Eligibility

 At least 60% of eligible children in a program receiving assistance must be in a family below 75% of state median income Majority of selected programs must serve children living in, or attend programs in, priority school districts (PSDs), former PSD, or towns where at least 40% of school lunches served to students qualifying for school FRPL

Application must be informed by a data-based needs assessment and community plan by the governance partner (governance partners replaces school readiness councils)



Early Start: Allows Grants on a PerChild or Per-Classroom Rate

Per child rate at least:

- \$10,500 for each child ages
 3, 4, or 5 (and not eligible for Kindergarten); or
- \$13,500 for each child under age 3 in toddler or infant care (and not in preschool)

Per classroom:

Equivalent to per child rate multiplied by classroom capacity, determined by commissioner on a case-bycase basis



Tri-Share Child Care Program, PA 24-91

- Employers must have a facility in New London County
- Employees must live in Connecticut and not be receiving other assistance for child care costs
- LEARN, southeastern Connecticut's regional educational service center, has been selected to administer Tri-Share
- Electric Boat committed as a program business partner
- \$1.8 million in one-time funding allocated for this (PA 24-81)

Tri-Share means: child care costs are shared equally between employers, employees, and the state

Early Childhood Care and Education Fund, PA 24-91

- Revisions to the Early Childhood Care and Education Fund (formerly the Early Childhood Education Fund)
 - Deposits, donations, and investments to be used solely to support the state's early childhood education and child care needs
 - Any deposited funds **are not state property** and cannot be combined with state funds
 - Under the **state treasurer's office** and advised by **new 23member commission** created to prepare a five-year plan



Other Legislative Highlights

Early Childhood Teachers and Assistants Pay Supplement (PA 24-91)

- One-time FY 25 payment of at least \$1,800 per person
- First-come, first serve basis
- OEC must use \$9 million of its appropriation (equals 5,000 payments of \$1,800)

Care 4 Kids

- Additional \$53.3 million in FY 25 to increase the rates the state pays to providers
- Additional \$18.8 million in one-time funds for FY 25 to cap parent fees at 7% and expand infant and toddler capacity (PA 24-81)



Questions?



Thank you

John Moran Principal Analyst Office of Legislative Research





2024 ISSUES CONFERENCE

December 13, 2024 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

